How to Become a Teacher in Nebraska
The short answer
Nebraska's traditional classroom path is the Initial Teaching Certificate for completers of a college or university educator preparation program. Apply in TEACH with official transcripts, institutional verification, Human Relations and Special Education training, a $65 certificate fee ($125 if fingerprints are included), and fingerprints if you have not lived in Nebraska for five years. As of June 4, 2025, EPP completers are not required to pass a Praxis content test. The Initial certificate expires August 31 in the fifth year following the year of issuance; later Standard and Professional certificates recognize consecutive teaching experience and, for Professional, a qualifying master's degree.
- Complete a college or university educator preparation program
- Complete Human Relations and Special Education training
- Apply through the TEACH portal and pay the certificate fee
- Submit fingerprints if you are not a five-year Nebraska resident
Key takeaways
- Nebraska's traditional classroom path is the Initial Teaching Certificate for completers of a college or university educator preparation program. Apply in TEACH with official transcripts, institutional verification, Human Relations and Special Education training, a $65 certificate fee ($125 if fingerprints are included), and fingerprints if you have not lived in Nebraska for five years. As of June 4, 2025, EPP completers are not required to pass a Praxis content test. The Initial certificate expires August 31 in the fifth year following the year of issuance; later Standard and Professional certificates recognize consecutive teaching experience and, for Professional, a qualifying master's degree.
- Complete a college or university educator preparation program
- Complete Human Relations and Special Education training
- Apply through the TEACH portal and pay the certificate fee
Nebraska certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Nebraska Department of Education — Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a college or university educator preparation program
Finish a program for initial certification through a college or university educator preparation program, including the clinical work the institution requires for institutional verification. The Initial Teaching Certificate is the traditional first regular certificate.
Source: education.ne.gov
Complete Human Relations and Special Education training
Nebraska's Initial Teaching Certificate requirements include Human Relations Training and Special Education Training in addition to transcripts and institutional verification. Confirm current documentation with Educator Certification before you submit in TEACH.
Source: education.ne.gov
Apply through the TEACH portal and pay the certificate fee
Create or use a TEACH account, submit the Initial Teaching Certificate application, send official transcripts, and pay the application fee. NDE lists $65 for a certificate and $125 for a certificate plus fingerprints (fingerprint add-on as of August 1, 2025). Applications and fees remain valid for one year.
Source: education.ne.gov
Submit fingerprints if you are not a five-year Nebraska resident
Fingerprints are required if you have not been a Nebraska resident for the past five years and/or have not previously held a Nebraska teaching certificate or permit. Official fingerprint processing is $60 as of August 1, 2025 when paid separately.
Source: education.ne.gov
Receive the Initial certificate and later advance to Standard or Professional
An Initial Teaching Certificate expires August 31 in the fifth year following the year of issuance and is valid in Nebraska schools unless you applied for a nonpublic certificate only. Advance to a Standard certificate after at least two consecutive years of teaching in the last five years, or to a Professional certificate after that experience plus a qualifying master's degree earned in the past ten years.
Source: education.ne.gov
Nebraska's June 4, 2025 testing change is the policy most likely to confuse applicants who still see Praxis listed on older Initial Certificate pages. The Educator Certification homepage now states that any applicant who completed an educator preparation program through a college or university is not required to take or pass the Praxis content test. The same notice carves out temporary teaching certificates and people who want to add an endorsement by taking the content test. Traditional completers should treat the homepage rule as current and use Praxis only when they are on one of those carved-out paths, not as a default Initial Certificate gate.
TEACH is both the application system and the clock. NDE allows applicants to submit before every supporting form has arrived, and it keeps the application and fee valid for one year. That flexibility helps when institutional verification or out-of-state employment forms lag, but it also means a stalled file can expire and require a new fee. Fingerprinting is not universal: only applicants who have not been Nebraska residents for the past five years and/or have not previously held a Nebraska teaching certificate or permit must submit prints. In-state career-long residents often skip that step and pay the $65 certificate fee rather than the $125 certificate-plus-fingerprints amount.
The Initial–Standard–Professional ladder is experience-based rather than test-based. Initial is the first regular certificate after an EPP. Standard requires at least two consecutive years of teaching in the last five years (or already holding a standard certificate). Professional adds a qualifying master's in curriculum and instruction, educational technology, or the content area earned in the last ten years. Educators who stay on Initial until it expires without documenting those consecutive years can find themselves looking at an Alternative Program Teaching Permit to rebuild eligibility instead of a simple online renewal.
Human Relations Training and Special Education Training remain statutory-style requirements on the Initial Certificate page even after the content-test exemption. Those trainings are easy to overlook when candidates focus on TEACH login mechanics and transcript routing to nde.tcertweb@nebraska.gov. NDE also asks applicants to pick one communication channel—email or phone—and to allow two business days, because duplicate contacts do not move a file faster. Traditional applicants who treat the portal as a document dump without the two trainings will still see a deficiency after the fee is paid.
Required exams and fees
Nebraska uses ETS Praxis (content tests not required for college/university educator-preparation completers as of June 4, 2025; still required for temporary certificates and some added endorsements). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).
- Praxis content assessment — not required for college/university EPP completers as of June 4, 2025
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Nebraska certification exams, Nebraska Department of Education — Educator Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Renewal and professional development
After the Initial term, educators move to Standard or Professional certificates when they meet NDE experience and, for Professional, master's-degree rules. Adding an endorsement by content test still uses Praxis even when the original EPP-based certificate did not require a content exam.
Moving a license to Nebraska
Out-of-state applicants use TEACH and follow the Out-of-State Applicant process on NDE's certification site. Fingerprints apply if the applicant has not been a Nebraska resident for the past five years and has not previously held a Nebraska certificate. As of June 4, 2025, applicants who completed an educator preparation program through a college or university are not required to take or pass the Praxis content test; that exemption does not apply to temporary teaching certificates or to adding an endorsement by taking the content test.
Official Nebraska reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Nebraska
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Nebraska; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $110,580
- Employed
- 1,860
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $96,030
- Employed
- 1,560
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $62,380
- Employed
- 8,710
- Projected growth
- +3.4%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $62,510
- Employed
- 4,150
- Projected growth
- +3.4%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $63,450
- Employed
- 7,170
- Projected growth
- +3.7%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Nebraska, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Nebraska
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Nebraska subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Nebraska preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Do I have to pass Praxis to get a Nebraska Initial Teaching Certificate?
Not if you completed an educator preparation program through a college or university. NDE's certification homepage states that as of June 4, 2025 those applicants are not required to take or pass the Praxis content test. Temporary certificates and adding an endorsement by content test are exceptions.
How much is a Nebraska educator certificate?
NDE's payments page lists $65 for a certificate, $125 for a certificate plus fingerprints as of August 1, 2025, $55 for an added endorsement, and $60 for fingerprints alone as of August 1, 2025.
How long is the Nebraska Initial Teaching Certificate valid?
It expires August 31 in the fifth year following the year of issuance and is valid in Nebraska schools unless the applicant requested a nonpublic certificate only.
When do I need fingerprints for a Nebraska certificate?
Fingerprints are required if you have not been a resident of Nebraska for the past five years and/or have not previously held a Nebraska teaching certificate or permit.
References
- Nebraska Department of Education — Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete a college or university educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Complete Human Relations and Special Education training. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
- Apply through the TEACH portal and pay the certificate fee. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.