Alternative Teacher Certification in South Dakota

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the South Dakota Department of Education — Office of Educator CertificationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

South Dakota alternative certification starts with a two-year Alternative Preliminary Certificate ($20) that authorizes hiring but not teaching. After a district offer, educators receive a one-year alternative certificate ($25) and have three years to finish assigned coursework and Praxis tests, renewing annually with district progress reports. Completion plus Form AC8 transitions to a five-year professional certificate ($60). New educators still need South Dakota Indian Studies.

  1. Obtain a two-year Alternative Preliminary Certificate
    Before applying for teaching positions, hold an Alternative Preliminary…
  2. Accept employment and convert to a one-year Alternative Certificate
    After a qualifying offer from a South Dakota public or Department-accre…
  3. Complete coursework and Praxis tests within three years
    The general education alternative route must be finished in the three y…
  4. Transition to the five-year professional certificate
    When all requirements are complete and the district offers a contract r…

Key takeaways

  • South Dakota alternative certification starts with a two-year Alternative Preliminary Certificate ($20) that authorizes hiring but not teaching. After a district offer, educators receive a one-year alternative certificate ($25) and have three years to finish assigned coursework and Praxis tests, renewing annually with district progress reports. Completion plus Form AC8 transitions to a five-year professional certificate ($60). New educators still need South Dakota Indian Studies.
  • Obtain a two-year Alternative Preliminary Certificate
  • Accept employment and convert to a one-year Alternative Certificate
  • Complete coursework and Praxis tests within three years

South Dakota alternative certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as South Dakota Department of Education — Office of Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Obtain a two-year Alternative Preliminary Certificate

    Before applying for teaching positions, hold an Alternative Preliminary Certificate (ARSD 24:28:10). For general education, a bachelor’s degree or higher from a regionally accredited institution is required. The preliminary certificate is valid two years, costs $20, and does not authorize teaching—it only allows a district to hire you. Create a mySD account and apply in the Educator Portal.

    Source: doe.sd.gov

  2. Accept employment and convert to a one-year Alternative Certificate

    After a qualifying offer from a South Dakota public or Department-accredited school, apply for the General Education (or CTE, TFA, or special education) alternative certificate. The district completes Form AC1 (intent to employ). The school must document that it attempted but was unable to hire a teacher with a professional or advanced certificate, offer mentoring, provide the Code of Professional Ethics, and train the applicant on the evaluation system (ARSD 24:28:11:08).

    Source: doe.sd.gov

  3. Complete coursework and Praxis tests within three years

    The general education alternative route must be finished in the three years allowed. Each year, submit an Alternative Certification Renewal application ($25) with proof of progress—an official transcript for a required course, a passing Praxis scoresheet, or registration for a required course or test—and have the district file Form AC2 (annual progress report).

    Source: doe.sd.gov

  4. Transition to the five-year professional certificate

    When all requirements are complete and the district offers a contract renewal, apply to transition using the Alternative Certification Renewal application and Form AC8 district sign-off. The published transition fee is $60 for a five-year professional certificate. The district affirms mentoring and ethics compliance.

    Source: doe.sd.gov

The preliminary-versus-teaching split is the feature most out-of-state career changers miss. The Alternative Preliminary Certificate is a two-year hunting license: you may be hired, but you may not teach on it. Only after a public or Department-accredited school signs an intent to employ do you receive the one-year alternative teaching certificate. Districts must also certify they could not hire a professionally certified teacher first. That shortage documentation requirement, written into ARSD 24:28:11:08, makes the route dependent on local labor-market facts, not just the candidate’s degree.

General education alternative certification is content-limited. DOE’s application-options guidance states GE applicants may not teach early childhood education, elementary self-contained or subject-specific grades K–4, early childhood special education, or special education. Those assignments have separate alternative or preparation routes. Teach for America participants use a parallel TFA alternative certificate with similar elementary and special-education exclusions. CTE alternative certification can rest on an A.A.S., 4,000 hours of work experience, or a national CTE credential instead of a bachelor’s degree.

Progress is paper-heavy and annual. Year-two and year-three renewals need both candidate evidence (transcript, Praxis score, or registration) and district Form AC2. The three-year clock is stated on the certificate email; missing a renewal drops the educator into invalid-certificate rules that demand three transcripted credits. Form AC8 is the only district sign-off that authorizes the professional certificate, and it includes ethics and mentoring attestations. Candidates who change districts mid-route must re-establish those district duties with the new employer.

Fees escalate by design: $20 to be eligible for hire, $25 each year of teaching on the alternative certificate, then $60 to land on the same five-year professional credential traditional completers buy up front. Paying the professional $60 at the start of an alternative route is the wrong application. Combining an alternative-certificate renewal with a teacher or administrator renewal at the same time is listed at $60 for five years, which is the only published way to avoid stacking a $25 alternative fee beside a separate professional renewal.

Required exams and fees

South Dakota uses ETS Praxis II content and pedagogy assessments (state-designated test list). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

South Dakota certification exams, SD DOE — Certification Frequently Asked Questions / Alternative Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

Renew the alternative teaching certificate every year with documented progress and district Form AC2 until the route is completed. After transition, follow five-year professional renewal rules. If an alternative certificate becomes invalid, ARSD 24:28:17:10 requires three transcripted credit hours plus other renewal requirements.

Certificate term
1 years
Alternative Preliminary Certificates are valid two years ($20). Alternative teaching certificates are valid one year ($25) and must be renewed annually until the three-year route is completed. Transition produces a five-year professional certificate ($60).
Application fee
$20–$60
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to South Dakota

South Dakota’s alternative certificates are in-state employment routes. Reciprocity for someone who already completed an alternative program in another state is a separate application path described on the Certification FAQ. General education alternative applicants may not teach early childhood, elementary self-contained or subject-specific grades K–4, early childhood special education, or special education.

Official South Dakota reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in South Dakota

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for South Dakota; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $88,390
    Employed
    680
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $126,160
    Employed
    240
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $50,130
    Employed
    4,290
    Projected growth
    +4.9%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $50,980
    Employed
    2,130
    Projected growth
    +5%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $51,050
    Employed
    3,360
    Projected growth
    +5.1%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, South Dakota, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in South Dakota

The U.S. Department of Education designates these South Dakota subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Career and Technical EducationLanguage ArtsScienceSpecial Education

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, South Dakota, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every South Dakota preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View South Dakota outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

Can I teach on a South Dakota Alternative Preliminary Certificate?

No. DOE describes it as a two-year certificate that does not allow you to teach; it only allows a district to hire you. After you accept an offer, you apply for the alternative teaching certificate.

How long do I have to finish alternative certification?

The alternative teaching certificate must be renewed every year, and the route must be completed within the required time frame. District progress reports state that general education, TFA, and CTE requirements must be completed within the three years allowed.

What are the alternative-certification fees?

The official FAQ table lists $20 for the two-year Alternative Preliminary Certificate, $25 for each one-year alternative teaching certificate or renewal, and $60 to transition to a five-year professional certificate.

References

  1. SD DOE — Certification Frequently Asked Questions / Alternative Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Accept employment and convert to a one-year Alternative Certificate. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Praxis II state-designated tests required by the alternative-route deficiency plan. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. South Dakota Department of Education — Office of Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. South Dakota certification portal. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.