South Dakota-approved traditional programs and alternative preliminary / teaching certificates report Title II outcomes by provider and route.
Data vintage
Current cycle: 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Official portal: Title II Higher Education Act reports.
How to read this table
Title II counts an institution offering both traditional and alternative routes as two providers. This site keeps that split and does not merge routes.
Pass rates based on fewer than 10 test takers, or rates the source suppressed, appear as “Not reported.” We never invent a rate from completers and enrollment.
Tables show published Title II figures for the current reporting cycle. Missing or unpublished rates appear as Not reported.
Provider outcomes in South Dakota
Pass rates appear only as published. Rates based on fewer than 10 test takers are shown as Not reported.
- Augustana University SDtraditional
- Enrollment
- 110
- Completers
- 42
- Pass rate
- 93% (42 test takers)
- Black Hills State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 276
- Completers
- 82
- Pass rate
- 100% (82 test takers)
- Dakota Wesleyan Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 61
- Completers
- 20
- Pass rate
- 100% (20 test takers)
- Dakota State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 154
- Completers
- 79
- Pass rate
- 100% (59 test takers)
- Mount Marty Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 45
- Completers
- 26
- Pass rate
- 100% (26 test takers)
- Northern State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 324
- Completers
- 55
- Pass rate
- 100% (51 test takers)
- Oglala Lakota Collegetraditional
- Enrollment
- 123
- Completers
- 8
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- University of Sioux Fallstraditional
- Enrollment
- 124
- Completers
- 39
- Pass rate
- 100% (39 test takers)
- South Dakota State Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 312
- Completers
- 105
- Pass rate
- 87% (87 test takers)
- Sinte Gleska Universitytraditional
- Enrollment
- 42
- Completers
- 4
- Pass rate
- Not reported.
- University of South Dakotatraditional
- Enrollment
- 336
- Completers
- 82
- Pass rate
- 99% (80 test takers)
South Dakota Title II teacher preparation outcomes, U.S. Department of Education — Title II Higher Education Act (2025 State Reports) (AY 2023-24).
Four-year institutions in South Dakota
17 active degree-granting four-year institutions from IPEDS: 9 public, 6 private nonprofit, 2 private for-profit. Institution detail pages remain noindex. Average net price, when shown, is the College Scorecard figure for that UNITID — suppressed values read Not reported.
- Augustana University
- Black Hills State University
- California Intercontinental University
- Dakota State University
- Dakota Wesleyan University
- Institute of Lutheran Theology
- Kairos University
- Mount Marty University
- National American University-Rapid City
- Northern State University
- Oglala Lakota College
- Sinte Gleska University
- Sisseton Wahpeton College
- South Dakota School of Mines and Technology
- South Dakota State University
- University of Sioux Falls
- University of South Dakota
Source: NCES IPEDS — Institutional Characteristics Directory Information (HD2024) (IPEDS HD2024). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Teacher Preparation Program Outcomes by State, 2025 cycle
All 51 jurisdictions in one downloadable file, with a stable citation string and a versioned archive of prior reporting cycles.
Looking for licensure steps? How to become a teacher in South Dakota.
Frequently asked questions
What is Title II teacher preparation data?
Title II of the Higher Education Act requires annual reporting on teacher preparation enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates. States submit consolidated reports to the U.S. Department of Education.
Why are some pass rates shown as Not reported?
Small samples (fewer than 10 test takers) and rates the source did not publish are shown as Not reported so unstable or unpublished figures never appear as numbers.
Which Title II cycle does this page use?
This page uses 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Confirm the latest cycle on title2.ed.gov before citing.
How many Title II providers are listed for South Dakota?
This cycle lists 11 provider-route rows for South Dakota: 11 traditional and 0 alternative. Title II counts an institution that offers both routes as two providers. These counts are not a ranking.
What enrollment and completer totals are published for South Dakota?
For South Dakota, published enrollment across 11 rows is 1,907; published completers across 11 rows are 542. These are sums of published cells, not a pass rate.
How should I read South Dakota Title II rows?
South Dakota-approved traditional programs and alternative preliminary / teaching certificates report Title II outcomes by provider and route.