How to Become a Teacher in South Dakota

Requirements verified Sep 7, 2026 against the South Dakota Department of Education — Office of Educator CertificationTitle II data: AY 2023–24 cycle

The short answer

South Dakota traditional certification requires an approved preparation program, state-designated Praxis II tests, and—for educators new to the profession or arriving from another state—a three-credit South Dakota Indian Studies course. Apply through the SD Educator Portal. The initial five-year professional certificate fee is $60. Certificates expire July 1; renew after January 1 with documented education-related credits (typically six).

  1. Complete an approved educator preparation program
    Finish a university education preparation program that leads to South D…
  2. Pass South Dakota state-designated Praxis tests
    Meet the Praxis II content and pedagogy tests listed on the approved So…
  3. Complete South Dakota Indian Studies if you are new or from out of state
    SDCL 13-1-48, as amended by House Bill 1002 effective July 1, 2025, req…
  4. Apply in the SD Educator Portal and pay the $60 fee
    Create a mySD account, complete the Educator Profile, and submit the in…

Key takeaways

  • South Dakota traditional certification requires an approved preparation program, state-designated Praxis II tests, and—for educators new to the profession or arriving from another state—a three-credit South Dakota Indian Studies course. Apply through the SD Educator Portal. The initial five-year professional certificate fee is $60. Certificates expire July 1; renew after January 1 with documented education-related credits (typically six).
  • Complete an approved educator preparation program
  • Pass South Dakota state-designated Praxis tests
  • Complete South Dakota Indian Studies if you are new or from out of state

South Dakota certification requirements, step by step

Each requirement below is stated as South Dakota Department of Education — Office of Educator Certification publishes it, with the governing source cited.

  1. Complete an approved educator preparation program

    Finish a university education preparation program that leads to South Dakota teacher certification. In-state graduates apply as “SD Graduate with Education Preparation Program Completion.” Out-of-state program completers use reciprocity applications in the SD Educator Portal.

    Source: doe.sd.gov

  2. Pass South Dakota state-designated Praxis tests

    Meet the Praxis II content and pedagogy tests listed on the approved South Dakota State-Designated Test document and Educator 411 endorsement search. South Dakota accepts only the Praxis test codes listed for the requested endorsement. If you designated SD DOE as a score recipient or tested in South Dakota, scores typically arrive in about two weeks.

    Source: doe.sd.gov

  3. Complete South Dakota Indian Studies if you are new or from out of state

    SDCL 13-1-48, as amended by House Bill 1002 effective July 1, 2025, requires all certified educators new to the profession or from out of state to complete an approved three-credit South Dakota Indian Studies course with a grade of C or higher. Educators who were already fully South Dakota-certified before July 1, 2025, are not subject to the expanded rule. Applicants who still need the course may receive a one-year provisional certificate.

    Source: doe.sd.gov

  4. Apply in the SD Educator Portal and pay the $60 fee

    Create a mySD account, complete the Educator Profile, and submit the initial educator application with official transcripts sent by the university to the Certification Office. The published fee for an initial five-year Teacher/Administrator/Education Specialist certificate is $60. All fees are non-refundable under ARSD 24:28:05. Issued certificates expire on July 1 of the expiration year.

    Source: doe.sd.gov

  5. Renew the five-year professional certificate

    Submit a renewal application after January 1 of the expiration year. Renewal documentation commonly includes six education-related credits (university credits at C or higher, or continuing education contact hours converted at 15 clock hours per renewal credit). If the application is submitted or postmarked before July 1, remaining requirements may be completed through October 1 before the certificate becomes invalid.

    Source: doe.sd.gov

South Dakota’s most distinctive statutory gate is South Dakota Indian Studies, not an extra pedagogy exam. House Bill 1002, effective July 1, 2025, expanded SDCL 13-1-48 from “any teacher” to “all certified educators” new to the profession or from out of state. The course must be an approved three-credit offering, appear on a regionally accredited transcript, and be completed with a grade of C or higher. DOE publishes the approved list by campus. Out-of-state applicants who have not yet finished the course are funneled to a one-year provisional ($35) rather than the five-year professional certificate, which surprises reciprocity candidates who already hold a full license elsewhere.

The published fee table is unusually granular. A five-year initial or renewal professional certificate is $60. Alternative preliminary certificates are $20 for two years; alternative teaching certificates are $25 per year; transitioning from alternative to professional is $60. Adding an endorsement by test is $35; transcript analysis is $50. Duplicate certificates and conversion to an advanced certificate are $25. Letting a certificate go invalid adds a $100 penalty on top of the application fee. Educators comparing South Dakota with neighboring Plains states should read the whole table—the professional $60 figure is not the price of every transaction.

Calendar rules are July-centric. Every issued certificate expires on July 1. Renewal applications open after January 1 of the expiration year. If the renewal is submitted or postmarked before July 1, remaining documents can arrive through October 1 before the certificate becomes invalid. Credits cannot be banked across cycles, and DOE does not automatically ingest contact hours from providers—the educator uploads them. Processing can take up to 10 weeks, and staff ask applicants to use application comments rather than duplicate email tickets.

Endorsements are request-driven. Passing a state-designated Praxis test no longer automatically adds an endorsement; applicants must name the endorsement on the initial, renewal, or “Add Endorsement or Update Existing Certificate” application. Educator 411 is the public lookup and the planning tool for which test, major, or coursework combination adds a specific assignment. Elementary K–6 certificate holders cannot add 5–8 subject endorsements by reciprocity alone; they must pass the current South Dakota-accepted Praxis test for that middle-level area.

Required exams and fees

South Dakota uses ETS Praxis II content and pedagogy assessments (state-designated test list). Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of September 2026).

South Dakota certification exams, South Dakota Department of Education — Educator Certification. Reporting period: as of September 2026. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Renewal and professional development

Renew after January 1 of the expiration year with education-related credits documented on the renewal application (the Certification FAQ states applicants need not list more than six credits). New and out-of-state educators must also complete approved South Dakota Indian Studies. Invalid certificates require completed renewal requirements plus the $100 invalid-educator penalty fee in addition to the application fee.

Certificate term
5 years
Initial and renewal professional educator certificates are issued for five years and expire on July 1. Out-of-state or out-of-country applicants who still need South Dakota Indian Studies may receive a one-year provisional certificate ($35).
PD required
6 hours
Clock hours / points cited by the state source
Application fee
$60
As published by the state agency

Moving a license to South Dakota

The Secretary may recognize an educator certificate issued by another state and issue an equivalent South Dakota certificate based on completion of an approved education program or, separately, completion of an alternative certification program. All educators new to South Dakota must complete the three-credit Indian Studies course; those who have not yet done so use the Educator Provisional pathway. Military members and spouses moving on orders use the Military/Military Spouse Initial application with the OSF2 verification form and a copy of active-duty orders.

Official South Dakota reciprocity guidance

Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →

Salary and job outlook in South Dakota

Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for South Dakota; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.

  • Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
    Annual wage
    $88,390
    Employed
    680
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Education Administrators, Postsecondary
    Annual wage
    $126,160
    Employed
    240
    Projected growth
    Not reported.
  • Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
    Annual wage
    $50,130
    Employed
    4,290
    Projected growth
    +4.9%
  • Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $50,980
    Employed
    2,130
    Projected growth
    +5%
  • Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
    Annual wage
    $51,050
    Employed
    3,360
    Projected growth
    +5.1%

U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, South Dakota, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Teacher shortage areas in South Dakota

The U.S. Department of Education designates these South Dakota subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.

Career and Technical EducationLanguage ArtsScienceSpecial Education

Source: U.S. Department of Education — Nationwide Teacher Shortage Areas Listing, South Dakota, SY 2024-2025. Retrieved 2026-08-11.

Federal outcomes data

Every South Dakota preparation program, with federally reported pass rates

Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.

View South Dakota outcomes →

Frequently asked questions

How much is a South Dakota professional educator certificate?

The Certification FAQ fee table lists $60 for an initial five-year Teacher/Administrator/Education Specialist certificate and $60 for a five-year renewal. All fees are non-refundable.

Do I need South Dakota Indian Studies?

Yes, if you are new to the profession or from out of state. SDCL 13-1-48, as amended effective July 1, 2025, requires an approved three-credit course with a grade of C or higher. Educators fully certified in South Dakota before that date are not pulled back into the requirement.

When do South Dakota certificates expire?

All issued certificates have a July 1 expiration date. Renewal applications may be submitted after January 1 of the expiration year.

Does South Dakota accept any Praxis exam I already took?

No. South Dakota accepts only the Praxis II test codes listed on the state-designated test document and application. If your test code is not listed, it is not accepted.

References

  1. South Dakota Department of Education — Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  2. Complete an approved educator preparation program. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  3. Pass South Dakota state-designated Praxis tests. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  4. Complete South Dakota Indian Studies if you are new or from out of state. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  5. Praxis II content and pedagogy exams — South Dakota state-designated list. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
  6. South Dakota Department of Education — Office of Educator Certification. Retrieved 2026-09-07.

Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.