How to Become a Teacher in Washington
The short answer
Washington's traditional path requires a bachelor's degree, a state-approved prep program with 540 hours mentored residency, WEST-B and WEST-E/NES content tests, and institutional recommendation via EDS e-Cert. Residency Teacher (First Issue) fee is $93. Renewal requires 100 clock hours including equity and STEM components.
- Complete a bachelor's degree and Washington-approved preparation program
- Pass WEST-B and WEST-E/NES content assessments
- Receive institutional recommendation
- Apply for a Residency Teacher (First Issue) certificate
Key takeaways
- Washington's traditional path requires a bachelor's degree, a state-approved prep program with 540 hours mentored residency, WEST-B and WEST-E/NES content tests, and institutional recommendation via EDS e-Cert. Residency Teacher (First Issue) fee is $93. Renewal requires 100 clock hours including equity and STEM components.
- Complete a bachelor's degree and Washington-approved preparation program
- Pass WEST-B and WEST-E/NES content assessments
- Receive institutional recommendation
Washington certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) / Professional Educator Standards Board (PESB) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Complete a bachelor's degree and Washington-approved preparation program
Earn a bachelor's degree or higher and complete a Washington state-approved teacher preparation program, including mentored residency/student teaching of at least 540 hours as required by PESB program standards. OSPI issues certificates; PESB approves programs. Using a generic “state department of education license” checklist will send candidates to the wrong agency.
Source: ospi.k12.wa.us
Pass WEST-B and WEST-E/NES content assessments
Pass the WEST-B basic skills assessment and the WEST-E or NES content test(s) required for your endorsement area. Dual endorsement areas (Bilingual, ELL, Science) may require additional tests. Washington is not an ETS Praxis system for these gates; consult OSPI’s teacher assessments page for endorsement-specific codes rather than assuming Praxis scores transfer.
Source: ospi.k12.wa.us
Receive institutional recommendation
Your Washington-approved preparation program verifies completion of all requirements and recommends you for certification through the e-Certification (EDS) system. Traditional completers enter on a Residency Teacher (First Issue) certificate—a full credential, not a substandard permit—after that recommendation.
Source: ospi.k12.wa.us
Apply for a Residency Teacher (First Issue) certificate
Apply through EDS e-Cert for a Residency Teacher (First Issue) certificate—the first-tier full credential for new teachers. First-issue fee is $93 per OSPI's Professional Certification Fee Schedule. Checks and cards follow the published fee-schedule instructions on that page.
Source: ospi.k12.wa.us
Reissue after service requirement
After 1.5–2 years of service in the designated role in Washington, reissue the Residency First Issue certificate or advance toward a Continuing or Professional certificate per OSPI guidance. Continuing certificate holders later renew with 100 clock hours every five years, including equity-based school and community practices and STEM integration.
Source: ospi.k12.wa.us
Washington splits certification authority between OSPI (issuance and renewal) and PESB (program approval and alternative route policy), which means candidates must track both agency websites. Traditional completers enter on a Residency Teacher (First Issue) certificate—a full credential, not a substandard permit—after their institution recommends them through EDS e-Cert. The first-issue fee of $93 is published on OSPI's Professional Certification Fee Schedule.
Clinical practice intensity exceeds many states' student-teaching minimums. PESB-approved programs require mentored residency of at least 540 hours, embedding extended supervised practice into the traditional pipeline before first hire. That standard affects timeline comparisons for career changers evaluating Washington against states with shorter clinical requirements.
Assessment branding confuses interstate movers. Washington uses WEST-B for basic skills and WEST-E or NES for content endorsements—not ETS Praxis—though some content areas may align with multi-state NES exams. Candidates should consult OSPI's teacher assessments page for endorsement-specific test codes rather than assuming Praxis scores transfer.
Renewal policy emphasizes equity and STEM continuing education. Continuing certificate holders accumulate 100 clock hours every five years with explicit equity-based school and community practices and STEM integration requirements. Reciprocity offers two major out-of-state pathways: approved out-of-state program recommendation, or a full out-of-state certificate plus three years of teaching experience depending on the endorsement and application type.
Required exams and fees
Washington uses WEST-B (basic skills), WEST-E / NES (content endorsements); program-specific assessments. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- WEST-B — basic skills
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- WEST-E / NES content assessment(s) — endorsement-specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Washington certification exams, OSPI — First-Time Teacher Certification. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
Continuing certificate holders renew with 100 clock hours of continuing education every five years, including equity-based school and community practices and STEM integration requirements per Washington professional certification rules.
Moving a license to Washington
Out-of-state candidates may qualify by completing an approved out-of-state preparation program with institutional recommendation, or by holding a full out-of-state certificate plus three years of teaching experience for select pathways. OSPI reviews each application in e-Cert.
Official Washington reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Washington
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Washington; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $166,590
- Employed
- 6,470
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $127,630
- Employed
- 2,140
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $102,350
- Employed
- 28,980
- Projected growth
- +8%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $102,140
- Employed
- 10,510
- Projected growth
- +8%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $102,670
- Employed
- 14,880
- Projected growth
- +8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Washington, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Washington
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Washington subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Washington preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
Does Washington accept Praxis instead of WEST?
Washington uses WEST-B and WEST-E/NES assessments for educator certification, not ETS Praxis. Consult OSPI's teacher assessments page for endorsement-specific requirements.
What is the Residency Teacher (First Issue) application fee?
OSPI's Professional Certification Fee Schedule lists $93 for a first-issue Residency Teacher certificate.
How many student teaching hours does Washington require?
PESB-approved teacher preparation programs require mentored residency/student teaching of at least 540 hours.
How many clock hours are required for certificate renewal?
Continuing certificate renewal requires 100 clock hours every five years, including equity-based practices and STEM integration requirements.
References
- OSPI — First-Time Teacher Certification. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass WEST-B and WEST-E/NES content assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Apply for a Residency Teacher (First Issue) certificate. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Reissue after service requirement. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) / Professional Educator Standards Board (PESB). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Washington certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.