Alternative Teacher Certification in Washington
The short answer
Washington PESB alternative routes (1–4) require district employment, 540 hours mentored residency, WEST-B and WEST-E/NES tests, and program recommendation for a Residency Teacher certificate ($93 first issue). Routes differ by candidate background—classified staff, BA holders, shortage endorsements, or content experts.
- Select a PESB-approved alternative route (Routes 1–4)
- Secure employment with a partnering district
- Complete mentored residency while teaching
- Pass WEST-B and WEST-E/NES assessments
Key takeaways
- Washington PESB alternative routes (1–4) require district employment, 540 hours mentored residency, WEST-B and WEST-E/NES tests, and program recommendation for a Residency Teacher certificate ($93 first issue). Routes differ by candidate background—classified staff, BA holders, shortage endorsements, or content experts.
- Select a PESB-approved alternative route (Routes 1–4)
- Secure employment with a partnering district
- Complete mentored residency while teaching
Washington alternative certification requirements, step by step
Each requirement below is stated as Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) / Professional Educator Standards Board (PESB) publishes it, with the governing source cited.
Select a PESB-approved alternative route (Routes 1–4)
Washington offers four alternative routes approved by PESB: Route 1 (district-run for classified staff with BA), Route 2 (for candidates with BA working toward endorsement), Route 3 (limited to special education/bilingual/ELL shortage areas), and Route 4 (for candidates with BA and content expertise). Each route requires a formal district partnership before enrollment.
Source: pesb.wa.gov
Secure employment with a partnering district
Alternative routes require partnership between an approved route provider and a Washington school district. Candidates must be employed or have an employment commitment before entering the program. Employer buy-in is as critical as academic prerequisites.
Source: pesb.wa.gov
Complete mentored residency while teaching
Finish program coursework and at least 540 hours of mentored residency/student teaching while serving as teacher of record or in a district-supported instructional role. The 540-hour requirement applies uniformly across traditional and alternative pathways; choosing an alternate route does not shorten clinical practice.
Source: pesb.wa.gov
Pass WEST-B and WEST-E/NES assessments
Pass required basic skills and content assessments for your endorsement before program completion and institutional recommendation. Washington uses WEST-B and WEST-E/NES, not ETS Praxis, for these gates.
Source: ospi.k12.wa.us
Apply for Residency Teacher certification via e-Cert
Upon program completion and institutional recommendation, apply through EDS e-Cert for a Residency Teacher (First Issue) certificate. OSPI does not issue a separate alternate-license tier; alternative route completers receive the same first-tier certificate as university pipeline graduates, with the same $93 first-issue fee.
Source: ospi.k12.wa.us
PESB's four alternative routes segment candidates by prior role and endorsement rather than offering a single generic alternate certificate. Route 1 targets classified school employees with bachelor's degrees; Route 2 serves BA holders adding endorsements; Route 3 is limited to shortage areas such as special education, bilingual education, and ELL; Route 4 serves candidates with content expertise. Each route requires a formal district partnership before enrollment.
The 540-hour mentored residency requirement applies uniformly across traditional and alternative pathways, meaning career changers cannot shorten clinical practice by choosing an alternate route. Alternative route candidates typically serve as teacher of record or in district-supported roles while completing coursework, making employer buy-in as critical as academic prerequisites.
Certification outcomes converge at the Residency Teacher (First Issue) credential regardless of route. OSPI does not issue a separate 'alternate' license tier—alternative route completers receive the same first-tier certificate as university pipeline graduates, with identical reissue and advancement rules toward Continuing or Professional status.
Out-of-state teachers should not enroll in PESB alternative routes expecting reciprocity credit. OSPI's out-of-state applicant page describes separate pathways for approved out-of-state program completers and for holders of full out-of-state certificates with three years of experience. Those tracks bypass PESB route enrollment entirely when eligibility criteria are met.
Required exams and fees
Washington uses WEST-B (basic skills), WEST-E / NES (content endorsements); program-specific assessments. Fees and cut scores appear only when published by the cited source (as of August 2026).
- WEST-B — basic skills
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
- WEST-E / NES content assessment(s) — endorsement-specific
- Passing score
- Not reported.
- Fee
- Not reported.
Washington certification exams, PESB — Alternative Routes. Reporting period: as of August 2026. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Renewal and professional development
After advancing to Continuing certification, educators renew with 100 clock hours every five years including equity and STEM continuing education requirements.
Moving a license to Washington
PESB alternative routes are for in-state employment partnerships, not out-of-state certificate transfers. Out-of-state educators should use OSPI out-of-state applicant pathways (approved OOS prep or full OOS certificate plus three years experience).
Official Washington reciprocity guidance
Compare reciprocity in all 51 jurisdictions →Salary and job outlook in Washington
Wage figures are Bureau of Labor Statistics Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics estimates for Washington; growth is the state projection published by Projections Central. Figures without a published value render as Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Kindergarten through Secondary
- Annual wage
- $166,590
- Employed
- 6,470
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Education Administrators, Postsecondary
- Annual wage
- $127,630
- Employed
- 2,140
- Projected growth
- Not reported.
- Elementary School Teachers, Except Special Education
- Annual wage
- $102,350
- Employed
- 28,980
- Projected growth
- +8%
- Middle School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $102,140
- Employed
- 10,510
- Projected growth
- +8%
- Secondary School Teachers, Except Special and Career/Technical Education
- Annual wage
- $102,670
- Employed
- 14,880
- Projected growth
- +8%
U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics — Occupational Employment and Wage Statistics, Washington, May 2025; Projections Central — Long-Term State Occupational Projections, 2024–2034. Retrieved 2026-09-07.
Teacher shortage areas in Washington
The U.S. Department of Education designates these Washington subject areas as experiencing shortages for school year 2024-2025. Certifying in a designated area can qualify educators for federal loan benefits and TEACH Grant service. Confirm current status at the source.
Every Washington preparation program, with federally reported pass rates
Enrollment, completers, and licensure exam pass rates from the 2025 State Reports (AY 2023-24). Cells with fewer than 10 test takers are shown as not reported.
Frequently asked questions
What are Washington's four alternative routes?
PESB approves Routes 1–4: Route 1 for classified staff with BA, Route 2 for BA holders, Route 3 for shortage endorsements (special ed, bilingual, ELL), and Route 4 for candidates with content expertise—all requiring district partnership.
Do alternative route teachers get a different certificate?
No. Alternative route completers receive the same Residency Teacher (First Issue) certificate as traditional preparation program graduates.
Can I enter an alternative route without a job offer?
PESB alternative routes require partnership between an approved provider and a Washington school district; candidates typically need employment or an employment commitment before entering the program.
References
- PESB — Alternative Routes. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Pass WEST-B and WEST-E/NES assessments. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Apply for Residency Teacher certification via e-Cert. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Office of Superintendent of Public Instruction (OSPI) / Professional Educator Standards Board (PESB). Retrieved 2026-08-11.
- Washington certification portal. Retrieved 2026-08-11.
Found something out of date? Report a data error. Corrections are reviewed and dated on-page.